Trini Christmas – Home for the holidays

Trini Christmas – Home for the holidays

I’m home!!!

Spending Christmas in Trinidad is one thing that I was just NOT willing to forfeit. So here I am. I’ve been here for about a week and I must say that it’s quite the emotional roller coaster. I’m torn between excitement at being with my family and #myguy and depression at having to leave in a few short weeks. It’s just too much!!!

Christmas tree
Our beautiful silver grey Christmas tree with red decorations

As is usual for Christmas in T&T, I spent the last couple days with my mom, turning the house upside down. I’m not sure if they have this tradition in any other Caribbean territory, but in Trinidad and Tobago, you know it’s Christmas when everyone is either painting, power washing their yard, purchasing new furniture or appliances, putting up new curtains and rearranging rooms. Needles to say everyone is usually dead tired by the time Christmas day actually hits! lol

So tonight  (Christmas eve) #myguy came over to spend some time, since I had an extra pair of hands, i had him help me clean my room and change my curtains 🙂

With ALL of my gifts still to be wrapped, I must admit that there is a bit of anxiety about getting up in the morning. (I could certainly do with a couple of Santa’s elves)

Aside from the actual day, I am definitely looking forward to the house limes (house parties for the non Trinidadians), sorrel, pastels and HAM! I’ll try to take lots of pics and include them in my next post.

MERRY CHRISTMAS to everyone out there in the blog world! I really hope that you guys have a lovely Christmas holiday 🙂

See you on the blog page!

Ms. B

Leave a comment